Parliamentary Network Africa is a parliamentary monitoring civil society organisation promoting open parliament across Africa. The Accra-based organisation begun as an advocacy newspaper (Parliamentary News) in 2015 intended to bridge the communication gap between legislators and citizens across Africa.


+233 206 713 612

MQQF+PP Accra | Ashongman Estates


Cote d’Ivoire is also known as Ivory Coast is a Francophone country located in the south of West Africa.

With a current population of over 27 million people, Ivory Coast gained independence from the French colony in 1960. Yamoussoukro is known to be the political-administrative capital and Abidjan is the economic capital city of Cote D’Ivoire.

Having conducted successive elections coupled with some political instabilities, the Ivorian parliament assumes the structure of bicameral which consist of two of representative, The National Assembly, and The Senate.

The National Assembly is composed of 255 members with 10.59% making up the women representation being elected directly to serve a five-year term of office.

Members of the Ivorian National Assembly are elected on simple majority voting systems and vacancies arising between general elections are supposed to be filled within three months through by-elections.

For candidates to vie for membership of the National Assembly, they must be 25 years old and above, as well as being Ivorian citizens. Some categories of persons who are incompatible are Judges, Inspectors of Administrative Affairs, and non-elective public offices. The Ivorian 2016 elections were followed by the approval of a new constitution that loosens eligibility conditions for the presidency and the Senate to be the representative body of territorial communities and Ivorians abroad.

The Rally Houphouetists for Democracy and Peace (RHDP), followed by independents and Union for Democracy and Peace in Cote d’Ivoire as the third with majority members out of five contested parties.

Members of the Senate on the other hand are composed of 99 statutory and current members with 66 indirectly elected and 33 through appointment to serve a five-year term of office and women of the Senate comprise 12.12%. Senators must be 35 years and citizens of Cote d’Ivoire.

In the last elections of the Senate, the Rally Houphouestists for Democracy and Peace (RHDP) had the majority of seats followed by independent members.


Source: (National Assembly) (Senate)

Official Website:




Translate »