Parliamentary Network Africa is a parliamentary monitoring civil society organisation promoting open parliament across Africa. The Accra-based organisation begun as an advocacy newspaper (Parliamentary News) in 2015 intended to bridge the communication gap between legislators and citizens across Africa.


+233 206 713 612

MQQF+PP Accra | Ashongman Estates



 Ghana, previously called Gold Coast is surrounded by Cote d’Ivoire to the West, Burkina Faso to the North, Togo to the East and Gulf of Guinea to the south.

With a population of over 30 million people and a 3 Arms of government. The legislative arm, also known as Parliament, is unicameral in structure as the elected representatives of the people.

The President of the Parliament is here known as the Speaker who is elected by Members of Parliament upon their first day of swearing into office.

The Speaker may be an incumbent member of parliament or any qualified elected MP, in an instance where the Speaker is an incumbent MP, the seat becomes vacant, and by-election is held.

The arm is composed of 275 statutory and current members who have been directly elected with 35 (12.73%) being women and a 4-year term of office.

After a series Coup d’état during post-independence, Ghana finally adopted the 1992 Republican constitution with the 8th parliament in session.

Parliamentary elections are done through a direct simple majority system and vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by-elections with only Ghanaian Citizens above 21 years been eligible to contest. Connected election officers, traditional chiefs, members of the arm forces are incompatibles.

The 8th parliament provides an interesting perspective in the history of the Ghanaian politics and parliamentary affairs, with the Speaker of parliament from the opposition party. Both parties – ruling (New Patriotic Party – NPP) and opposition (National Democratic Congress-NDC) has the same number of seats – 137 and 1 independent candidate.




Last updated: 30 January 2017

Official Ghana’s Parliament Website:


Translate »