Parliamentary Network Africa is a parliamentary monitoring civil society organisation promoting open parliament across Africa. The Accra-based organisation begun as an advocacy newspaper (Parliamentary News) in 2015 intended to bridge the communication gap between legislators and citizens across Africa.


+233 206 713 612

MQQF+PP Accra | Ashongman Estates


The Republic of Guinea-Bissau was formerly called The Kingdom of Kaabu which is located in West Africa. It borders Senegal to the north and Guinea to the south-east. The capital city of Guinea-Bissau is Bissau with a country population of a little over 2 million people. The country is a former colony of Portugal and became achieved in 1973. Since independence, Guinea-Bissau has experienced a series of political instability.

The legislative body of Guinea-Bissau is the People’s National Assembly which is unicameral. The Assembly is composed of 102 members who are elected to serve a 4-year mandate. 14 (13.73%) of the members are women.

The People’s National Assembly consists of 27 multi-member constituencies in the country and 2 single-member constituencies for two seats reserved for Guinea-Bissau citizens living abroad (one for Africa and the other for Europe).

Proportional voting, List Proportional Representation (List PR, closed list) is the procedure of electing members of the Assembly. Voters must be citizens of Guinea-Bissau and 18 years of age as well as 21 years for candidates. After the dissolution of the People’s National Assembly in 2012 following a coup, it was reinstated in 2014. The 2014 Assembly elections saw a total of 15 political parties contesting with 5 winning. The African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC), Party for Social Renovation (PRS), and Democratic Convergence Party (PCD) respectively being 3 parties with a majority of seats in the National Assembly.



Last Updated: 14 May 2018

Official Website:

Translate »