Parliamentary Network Africa is a parliamentary monitoring civil society organisation promoting open parliament across Africa. The Accra-based organisation begun as an advocacy newspaper (Parliamentary News) in 2015 intended to bridge the communication gap between legislators and citizens across Africa.


+233 206 713 612

MQQF+PP Accra | Ashongman Estates


Guinea, officially known as the Republic of Guinea is a coastal country in West African country. The former French colony shares borders with the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Guinea-Bissau to the northwest, Senegal to the north, Mali to the northeast, Cote d’Ivoire to the southeast, and Sierra Leone, and Liberia to the south. Guinea is formerly known as French Guinea, which is sometimes referred to as Guinea-Conakry after its capital Conakry. Guinea has a population of over 13 million people.

Achieving independence from France in 1958, Guinea has a history of series of coup d’etats until 2010 when it had its first democratic elections.

Guinea runs a unicameral legislative body where all 114 members are directly elected to office for a 5-year term, women consist of 25 (21.93%) seats in the National Assembly.

Electing of National Assembly members is done through the mixed system. In this method, 38 Deputies are elected by a simple majority in single-member constituencies, 76 Deputies are chosen by proportional representation and using a national electoral quotient (votes cast divided by 76) from a national list of candidates. Seats left unfilled after this process are awarded to those having obtained the most votes.

The basic requirement for voters and electors is 18 years and above and Guinean citizens.

In the 2013 elections, 31 political parties contested, out of this number 15 won; Rally of the Guinean People (RPG) rainbow, Union of Democratic Forces of Guinea (UFDG), and Union for Republican Forces (UFR) being the three major parties winning the majority of seats in the National Assembly respectively.





Official Website:

Translate »