Parliamentary Network Africa is a parliamentary monitoring civil society organisation promoting open parliament across Africa. The Accra-based organisation begun as an advocacy newspaper (Parliamentary News) in 2015 intended to bridge the communication gap between legislators and citizens across Africa.


+233 206 713 612

MQQF+PP Accra | Ashongman Estates


Mali, officially known as the Republic of Mali is a West African and a former French colonial country. As a landlocked country, Mali is the eighth-largest in with a current population of over 20 million people. Mali is boarded by Niger to the north, Algeria to the north, Mauritania to the northwest, Burkina Faso to the southeast, Senegal, and Guinea to the southwest, and Ivory Coast to the south.

After gaining independence in September 1960 from France, Mali has gone through a series of coup d’etat and conflicts whiles running till the adoption of constitutional democracy in 1992 and again experienced series of coup d’etat between 2012 and 2021. The legislative body of Mali is unicameral in structure, consisting of 147 statutory and current members with 13 (8.84%) being women who are directly deputies elected to five-year terms in office.

Members of the National Assembly are elected through the majority party-list system in two rounds of voting. Between general elections vacancies that arise are filled through by-elections.

Malian and citizens of other African countries who have their residence in Mali and are 18 years and above qualify to vote. Qualified electors must be 21 years and above and Malian citizens.

During the 2013 elections, 19 parties contested. The Rally for Mali (RPM) won the majority of the seats in the house followed by the Republic and Democracy Union (URD) and Alliance for Democracy in Mali (ADEMA) with the third majority of seats.




Official Website:


Translate »