Parliamentary Network Africa is a parliamentary monitoring civil society organisation promoting open parliament across Africa. The Accra-based organisation begun as an advocacy newspaper (Parliamentary News) in 2015 intended to bridge the communication gap between legislators and citizens across Africa.


+233 206 713 612

MQQF+PP Accra | Ashongman Estates


Senegal, officially known as the Republic of Senegal is a Francophone West African country bordered by Mauritania in the North, Mali to the East, Guinea to the Southeast, Guinea-Bissau to the South West. Senegal surrounds The Gambia which indicates its geographic size.

Dakar is the economic and political capital of Senegal with a current country population of 17 million people and became an independent state in August 1960 after gaining a Republican status in November 1958.

The legislative body of Senegal is the National Assembly which is unicameral and composed of 165 members who are directly elected to serve a 5-year term of office with 69 (41.82%) current women population in the house.

Senegal uses the mixed system of voting to elect members to Assembly, this is the Party Block Vote (PBV) where 105 members are elected from constituencies and the List Proportional Representation (List PR) system where 60 members are chosen from lists of candidates presented by parties, coalitions of parties and independent persons at the national level.

Vacancies that arise between general elections in the National assembly are normally filled by the “next-in-line” candidate on the list of the same party, a coalition of parties, or independent persons which held the seats in question. By-elections are only held within three months should there remain no more names of potential members on the list concerned. Only Senegalese citizens who are 18 years and above are required to vote and electors must be 25 years and above before they can contest for the membership of the National Assembly.

Holders of non-elective public functions, members of the Economic and Social Council, and members of the armed or police forces on active duty are incompatibles.

The number of parties who contested for seats in the National Assembly elections was 47, out of which only 14 parties won some seats. The major 3 parties with the highest number of seats include; Benno Bokk Yaakaar, Winning Coalition – “Wattu Senegal” and “Mankoo Taxawu Senegal” Coalitionrespectively.



Official Website:

Translate »