Parliamentary Network Africa is a parliamentary monitoring civil society organisation promoting open parliament across Africa. The Accra-based organisation begun as an advocacy newspaper (Parliamentary News) in 2015 intended to bridge the communication gap between legislators and citizens across Africa.


+233 206 713 612

MQQF+PP Accra | Ashongman Estates


The National Assembly of The Gambia is a Unicameral Legislature which is made up fifty-eight (58) members, fifty-three (53) who are directly elected by single-member constituencies through a simple majority and additional five (5) members appointed by the President, who all serve for a term of five (5) years. 

The current National Assembly is the Sixth Legislature but the second post dictatorial Jammeh era, made up of fifty-three (53) men and five (5) women. The current Speaker of the National Assembly is Fabakary Tombong Jatta (Leader of APRC), Majority Leader Billay G. Tunkara (NPP) and Alhagie S. Darboe Minority Leader (UDP). 

In its last election held in 2022, the President’s Party National People’s Party (NPP) hold 18 seats, their biggest opposition United Democratic Party (UDP) 15 seats, Independent 12 seats, Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction (APRC) 2 seats, People’s Democratic Organisation for Independence and Socialism (PDOIS) 2 seats and National Reconciliation Party (NRP) 4 seats. 

The age required to vie for the position of National Assembly Member is twenty-one (1) years and the candidate should be able to speak and understand English. The candidate should also should  be a resident of that constituency for at least a period of one (1) year prior to nomination day, the person is exempted if they hold dual or more citizenships, found guilty by a commission of inquiry to partake in a case of fraud, abused office, among other things .







Translate »